The Little Things

Every once in a while I’m reminded how much small acts of kindness can affect someone. This past week has been quite emotional for me, my emotions running all over the place with no rhyme or reason with melancholy being the average. Odd, as I had the week off from work, but I spent much of the time at home and as far away from people as I generally could.

My interactions for the week were limited to my therapy appointment and a couple of podcast records (guested on two shows and recorded one episode for my own). I have to say, I’m so grateful for the chance to get to know and befriend the people that I’ve met because of podcasting.

I have felt incredibly alone, secluded from the world. I have a couple friends at work, but given how far I live none of them are close so there’s no hanging out outside of work. And as I’ve only lived here a couple of years, I don’t know hardly anyone in the area. This is one of the problems that I’ve talked to my therapist about. And this is one of the problems that has been at least slightly solved by the podcasters that I’ve met.

A couple days ago I was feeling particularly down. That day hadn’t started right, I got very emotional, and the rest of the day was spent trying to even out my mood and bring my emotions back under control. That evening, out of nowhere, I got a message from one of them, very unexpectedly.

“So.. how’s your night going?”

I don’t think he knows how much it meant to me that he would take the time to talk to me when he’s as busy as he is. We had a long conversation, talking movies and music, sending links to different songs back and forth. It may not seem like to to him (I’m not sure) but to me, when in one of my darker moods, it meant the world.

So for that, thank you. While they’re not in my local area, I now feel that I do have people I can talk to, about anything to include my lack of religious beliefs, without judgement or scorn. It’s little things like that that help to brighten my day.

Leave a Reply

